The best ever: What’s on TV?

As the Countdown to Kianna reaches 31 days — and the prospect of becoming a grandpa in one month makes me want to leap like a happy little lamb in a field of clover — I’m thinking ahead to a post-Countdown blog schedule.

Here’s what I’m thinking: Wanted … guest bloggers for Tuesdays and Thursdays. Pitch me your blog ideas (very few topics are off-the-table) or just send something along and I’ll get it ready to post. My interests for Jackson’s Journal are slice of life stuff like “Memoir-in-Progress,” anything family-related, anything writing-related (how-to, technical advice on point of view, plotting, character development, dialogue, etc.), nature and animals and dogs, and spiritual matters. No need to go all Oswald Chambers on me, but the occasional soul-deep devotional and encouragement for the faithful would be much-appreciated.

(For the record, I digest a little bit of old Oswald’s “My Utmost for His Highest” on a fairly regular basis).

I also offer space for my atheist/agnostic/skeptical friends and colleagues to present their views. If faith withers in the presence of thought-provoking, challenging words from skeptics, then faith isn’t faith.

I’m interested in dialogue, conversation and communication.

We can always turn to what we all enjoy just about more than anything: eating. Maybe there’s a cake-baking (Lora W.) or cupcake-making (Catherine M.) guest blogger-in-waiting out there?

For the business at hand tonight, I’m sharing my list of the 25 best television shows ever. See if it matches what you might select and be sure to comment with other nominees or agreement/disagreement. This is MY list, meaning most people probably don’t consider “Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom” one of the best TV shows of all time. But I do.

Here goes: 1. Seinfeld, 2. The X-Files, 3. Parenthood, 4. Lost (the first four and a half seasons); 5. Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom; 6. M*A*S*H; 7. The Carol Burnett Show; 8. All in the Family; 9. Cheers; 10. Hill Street Blues;

11. Northern Exposure; 12. The Andy Griffith Show; 13.  The Office; 14. thirtysomething; 15. Saturday Night Live, 1975-1980; 16. The Tonight Show with Johnny Carson; 17. St. Elsewhere; 18. E.R.; 19. Frasier; 20. The West Wing.

Honorable mention: NYPD Blue (original series), Chicago Hope, Taxi, House, The Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, L.A. Law.

For now I’m trying to train myself to write shorter blogs. Someday I’ll explain my rankings with such profound insight as until “Parenthood” began airing a couple of years ago, “The West Wing” was probably the best-written show ever. I’ll also admit to having never watched “The Sopranos” and a few other highly-acclaimed dramas.

What say you?

Grandpa’s message to Kianna, #7

From the book Grandpas Are for Finding Worms … “When you don’t want to walk anymore, grandpas carry you.”

You can count on it, Kianna.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration, Kianna Allene Brown, MIP: Memoir-in-progress

Leave a Reply

