The best day in a long time

It’s not that days past were necessarily catastrophic or uneventful, but Monday was simply a good day. A banner day.

  • My 49th birthday, yet I didn’t feel like a grizzled veteran. My co-workers even took it easy on me.
  • Kelly spent most of the previous four days studying for her LMSW (licensed master of social work) licensure exam, which she took Monday morning. In a rare example of my bride reaching for the required score rather than the best score, she announced late Sunday, “I can miss 40 questions and still pass.” I teased her about setting the bar low. But she passed the test Monday and will soon receive her license to do what she’s done with me for 30 years: therapy.
  • It was a productive day at work, notwithstanding being stonewalled by communications directors for the governor’s office and the Department of Natural Resources. With apologies to my friends and readers in the Southern Boone School District, I rejoiced to discover that Monday night’s school board meeting was rescheduled for next Monday night. That schedule change allowed for more time to enjoy my birthday supper with my very relieved wife. She was positively giddy from passing that test. I am proud of her beyond comprehension.
  • A few weeks ago we agreed to be godparents to four great siblings, ages 8 to 12. Desiree, 12, Dasia, 11, Bryant 9, Bryson 8. We’ve been wondering about the details of our roles as godparents. Monday night we were asked by their mom, Rochelle, to drop by to break the news that their pet guinea pig had died. I do have abundant experience in that, so I broke the news as I held the lifeless little cavy. By doing so, I facilitated the breaking of four beautiful little hearts. It looks like we’ll be hosting a guinea pig funeral and burial in the next day or two. On the drive home with the guinea pig and its cage that the kids — for now — couldn’t bear to see, Kelly knew just what to say: “I guess we know now what godparents do.”
  • But it was one of the best days in a long time. The soul-deep tears and sadness from our little friends didn’t ruin the day. Hardly. Sharing that deep loss and letting our godkids react as heartbroken youngsters would react answered a need of my heart and gave me a sense of peace that an ungrizzled veteran would not have found.

Finally, thanks for all the birthday well-wishes.

Tomorrow look for the long-awaited tribute to Granny Nola from our youngest, Natasha, who taught me the importance of letting youngsters grieve the loss of their guinea pigs.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

