Something special about today

Written for Easter 2012. “The Voice.”

But first this thought. Easter, in some form of observance, is secular, pagan, Christian or simply “religious.” What is it to you? It’s easy to get side-tracked by religious ceremony, colored eggs or a special meal. For the Jacksons – for as long as I’ve been alive – no single events in all of human history are more profound than the resurrection of Jesus Christ and his violent, Self-sacrificial death on the Cross. It was the darkest, most hopeless hours ever.

Listen. He already knows your name. He knows your heart. Listen.

The Voice.

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

Yesteryear’s calendar …

Easter Sunday, April 11, 1982 — Preach sunrise service, Pilot Knob Baptist Church.

John 20:15-15Jesus saith unto her, Woman, why weepest thou? Whom seekest thou? She, supposing him to be the gardener, saith unto him, Sir, if thou have borne him hence, tell me where thou hast laid him, and I will take him away.

Jesus saith unto her, Mary. She turned herself and saith unto him, Rabboni; which is to say, Master.

John 10:27My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me.

That Easter sunrise service I preached 30 years ago didn’t use the text I just shared. (That morning the text was Philippians 3:7-11, focus on verse 10). But if I had an Easter message for 2012, the title, based on the above reading from the King James Version, would be something of a take-off on the…

View original post 731 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

